Edward Thomas
16-07-2003, 09:10 AM,
Edward Thomas
Thanks for including Adlestrop in your recent entry Andy. I studied Edward Thomas as part of my English A' Level and reading it takes me back.

Back then I had a big potato on my shoulder about literature, and poetry and could never understand why we couldn't study stuff that was more relevant, less high brow and maybe less snobbish.

Consequently I hated all that stuff and loved Stephen King (still do actually and think he's a better writer than some people give him credit for, just because he writes genre fiction doesn't mean his perception of human beings is not acute but thats another thing), however its only as I matured (like a good cheese perhaps?) that I realised just how good all that stuff is (such as Austen, Hardy, Dickens (just love Dickens!)), but I never revisited Edward Thomas.

Maybe I will now.

Cheers
Cheers
Parky
16-07-2003, 12:07 PM,
Edward Thomas
Hi Parky - good message. I never really studied Edward Thomas but we had a fearsome English teacher who spent a whole lesson talking about Adlestrop, and it's remained in my subconscious ever since.

As you might have gathered if you've been around for a while, I have a thing about the First World War. There's something poignant about the thought of Thomas writing a piece of verse like that while cowering in a bunker at Ypres, waiting for his rendezvous with death. (By the way, I dscovered recently that there's a marathon in Flanders every year...)

Something I decided to edit out of that entry was the detailed story of our visit to Lanhydrock. Like most NT houses, it's essentially the story of a family. This (mainly) happy one ended with the death of the eldest son at Loos in 1916. Horribly sad. I decided it wouldn't interest people, so got rid of it.