Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
I Medio Maratón El Pilar de la Horadada
07-04-2007, 09:11 PM,
I decided to take part at this new race just a few days before the competition. Although I suggested doing it a few weeks before, I didn´t feel much like it but Juan Pedro, another English teacher persuaded me to enter with him and Juan Jesús, a faster runner, who is a traumatologist. So, on Sunday 1st April at 6:15, they picked me up and we went to El Pilar de la Horadada, a small town in the province of Alicante just on the border with the region of Murcia. http://WWW.pilardelahoradada.org We went along the motorway to Murcia and got to the town at about 9:15 after having breakfast at a café in the province of Almería.

At El Pilar, I met José Luis, a friend of mine who I had met when I was a teacher at San Javier secondary school, which is near El Pilar. He has a food shop and lemon groves. After picking up our race numbers and chips we took some photos and Juan Jesús left to take a position in front.

In spite of the weather forecast, it was a sunny day instead of the predicted rain. The start line was at calle Mayor, High street. There were around 450 runners among them Martín Fiz and Abel Antón who came to promote the race. They were world marathon champions a few years ago. I met Abel Antón at San Silvestre El Ejido last year where he also took part. I also talked to a runner who was wearing a Carreraspopulares.com singlet and a sort of umbrella as a hat. There was also a young runner who was running with a push car and his baby on it.